Reviews of Trapp Family Lodge

Located 3kms from Santa Elena, just 1km away from Monteverde Reserve
 

Hotel reviews

Read what our travalers say about Trapp Family Lodge, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option. Write your own Review


Reviewed by 10 Travelers

Displaying 1-10 of 10 Reviews
April 22, 2013

by Patti Heigert
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 4
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4

Cloud Forest Classic

4
  •  

It was a great motel and a wonderful restaurant on the premise too! A little out of the way but not if you were on your way to the Cloud Forest, you could easily walk there from the motel. Beautiful grounds too.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
April 22, 2013

by Patti Heigert
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 4
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4

Cloud Forest Classic

4
  •  

It was a great motel and a wonderful restaurant on the premise too! A little out of the way but not if you were on your way to the Cloud Forest, you could easily walk there from the motel. Beautiful grounds too.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
March 28, 2012

by Vivian Sammartino
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Very attentive to your needs

5
  •  

My daughter and I made plans to stay at Trapp Family Lodge, and we had many delays getting there in a timely manner. We called to let the lodge know our situation and never got there until 10:30 in the evening, way after they closed. There was a lovely gentleman there waiting to assist us making sure everything was taken care of and that we could register in the morning. The room was clean and cozy, the breakfast was wonderful, and on top of it, we originally were supposed to have two more quests and we were refunded our money on the two that did not show up. We were very pleased with the service, our room, the food and the staff. Would recommend to others without hesitation.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
February 28, 2012

by Rae
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Wonderful Lodge

5
  •  

We stayed in the main lodge and really liked the clean & spacious rooms, nice view, helpful staff at the front desk and in the restaurant. Food offered had nice variety and restaurant was accommodating for earlier starts. Location within walking distance of the reserve was great! A nice size facility gave a homey feeling with great service.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
May 29, 2011

by Katherine Gare
Canada
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 2
Room cleanliness: 4
Location: 3
Value for Money: 2

we were duped...

3
  •  

In November 2010 I booked 3 rooms, the rate for each room being about $100.00US per night. Two of the rooms were booked for Dec. 20 to Dec. 26th; the third room was booked Dec. 23-26th. For various reasons, cold room, unfriendly service, we stayed for only 1 night, using only 2 rooms, each at a rate of $100./night. The third room, booked for Dec. 23rd, was never used or checked into.
When we checked out the Front Desk person was rude and uncommunicative, but they said they would only charge us for 2 nights which, at $100./night for 2 rooms, should amount to around $400.00 on our VISA card. When we received our VISA bill in January/2011 Trapp Family Lodge had charged us $637.77 TWICE, which is about the amount we would have paid had we stayed for the number of days I originally booked. Fair enough, I guess, it's a busy holiday season, but the Lodge should NOT have told us they would only charge us for 2 nights then go ahead and charge for the complete booking. This kind of treatment by the management of this hotel was typical of the terse service and treatment we received during our brief stay. I would definitely NOT book accommodation there again.
K. Gare, Toronto, Canada


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
March 26, 2011

by Tom Allen
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 4
Value for Money: 5

Nice Hotel - Awesome Service

4.8
  •  

The hotel is clean, nice and comfortable. The main "lodge" has a very nice relaxing area with internet, a bar and a restaurant. The rooms are large, clean and the beds and linens are very nice. The hotel is far from the village which is both a positive and a negative. It is very quiet with nothing else around and the views are spectacular. The road to town is rough.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
December 27, 2009

by Annick Paradis
Canada
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Great and relaxing hotel

5
  •  

Trapp family lodge is a very relaxing hotel with his magnificent rooms and his sympathic staff. Perfectly situated for those who planned to visite Monteverde reserve and at 5 minutes from downtown.

Une valeur sûre!

Annick, Québec, Canada


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
August 14, 2009

by garrett smith
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 4
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

Family of 5

4.2
  •  

The hotel was great for our group. A bit outside the town but we met some other nice families. Road to Monte Verde from La Fortuna is very tough


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
June 06, 2009

by Allison
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4

Charming Lodge

4.2
  •  

This is a small hotel located within walking distance to Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve but quite a distance away from the town centre. If the cloud forest is your main attraction, then this is the hotel for you. Tours for other attractions include pickup from your hotel so that helps. Also taxi fare to town is about $7 dollars but there is a public bus which costs less than $1. The rooms are large and beautifuly decorated. The wood floors are beautiful and it is obvious that the owner takes pride in taking care of the place. The staff is also friendly.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
August 30, 2008

by David Smith
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

A truly mountain hotel

4.8
  •  

The hotel is very nice and the staff friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view to the forest. Highly recommend for all travelers that visit Monteverde. The Reserve is at only 10 minutes by walking.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-10 of 10 )

Please share with others your experiences in Trapp Family Lodge
+ Add your review


Hotel's rating
Our editors' rating:
No rated

Average guest rating: 4.40
  •  
out of 10 reviews
See all reviews

Book Now
Travel tools

QUICK CONTACT
  • Toll Free: 40000916 *
  • Local Phone: 506 2645-6270
  • Support: Contact Us
* USA & Canada



Other hotels in Monteverde Costa Rica