Reviews of Fonda Vela Hotel

Located 3kms from Santa Elena town, just 1km away from the Monteverde Reserve
 

Hotel reviews

Read what our travalers say about Fonda Vela, or give your own opinion to help other people find the right option. Write your own Review


Reviewed by 9 Travelers

Displaying 1-9 of 9 Reviews
March 19, 2013

by Earle J. Fisher
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Great Hotel

5
  •  

Two comments, My wife hurt her foot comig down the stairs from the loft, and the down staires was dark at night even with all the lights on. Our traveling couple next door had a well lite room.

Hav already recommend this to my Grand Daughter who will be their in May.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
December 11, 2012

by Lindsay
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Excellent hotel!

5
  •  

Fonda Vela was wonderful. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and modern, the bed and sheets were new and clean - no bugs, no worries.
It is located very close to the preserve - close enough to walk to, and if you want to go into the town, you will want to catch a ride.
The staff was great (a most excellent bar tender!) and I was very grateful that my hotel was Fonda Vela at the end of an exhausting day of hiking and exploring!
I would most definitely, highly recommend this hotel - this was the best place I stayed in while visiting Costa Rica.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
May 15, 2012

by Craig Hadden
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Very pleased

4.8
  •  

Very pleased ith facility. Great food and service in resturant.

But no ping pong ball at pool area/ bar or lobby. Missed playing


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
February 19, 2012

by Roman Scheu
Switzerland
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4

Good Hotel

4.4
  •  

very good, we liked it. One of the best hotels we had in Costa Rica


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
February 07, 2012

by Chris
Great Britain
Hotel condition: 3
Staff & Service: 4
Room cleanliness: 3
Location: 3
Value for Money: 3
[1 of 1 travelers found this review helpful]

A little dissapointing

3.2
  •  

On arriving at the hotel we were surprised to find the drive area in front of the lobby/reception quite rough and ready, no beautifully tended garden as suggested in litrature and some reviews.
The rooms we were given were not in the main block but seemed similar but probably older. Bathroom not quite a good as expected. The main problem was how cold we were the room had no heating and the only way to get warm was to have a hot shower and jump into bed, there were louvered windows down one side of the room so there was a continual draught even when they seemed shut.
The restaurant was double height with a bar upstairs, it was always really cold in there as they always had all the doors open, no nice warm log fire as guests at other hotels told us they had. Consequently we only took breakfast in the hotel and ate out the rest of the time so didn't get to find out if the food was as good as it was supposed to be.

Swimming pool area looked very nice but it was open with only a roof to cover it so nobody used it or the nice pool bar.

To sum up all a bit tired, needs to get a full time gardener and supply some heating. Otherwise the staff were very helpful. Not one I would say you must visit.


Bottom line: No, I would not recommend it to a friendNo, I would not recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
August 20, 2011

by Kylee Robinson
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 4
Value for Money: 4

Beautiful and comfortable

4.6
  •  

Fonda Vela was a beautiful hotel that was a little bit away from town that made it more remote
And quiet. The service and staff was extremely kind and s
Super accommodating. I would definetly recommend this hotel to couples and families as it's a great it for both.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
April 03, 2011

by Linda
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 4
Location: 4
Value for Money: 5

Relaxing Retreat

4.6
  •  

After 4 days in Arenal, we hit the road...the very bumpy road only to arrive at Fonda Vela...a quiet peaceful retreat, with wonderful vistas, good food and a friendly helpful staff. The grounds were wonderful with art and sculpture, the pool, locker area and bar perfect...GREAT relaxing before taking the Tarzan swing!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
April 11, 2010

by Stephen Halbig
United States
Hotel condition: 5
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

Great Hotel

5
  •  

Beautiful hotel and grounds. Good food and nice location close to the national park. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful rooms and views.


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
April 13, 2009

by Sherri Moore
United States
Hotel condition: 4
Staff & Service: 5
Room cleanliness: 5
Location: 5
Value for Money: 5

"Great Hotel"

4.8
  •  

After the long to your hotel - I was pleasantly surprised! It was more than I expected. Just perfect. The room was spacious and clean. I loved listening to the birds right outside the deck in the morning. I would definitely recommend your hotel to others.

Thank you for such a pleasant stay!

Pura Vida!


Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend it to a friendYes, I would recommend it to a friend
Help other travelers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Reviews ( 1-9 of 9 )

Please share with others your experiences in Fonda Vela Hotel
+ Add your review


Hotel's rating
Our editors' rating:
1
out of 5
  •  
Very nice
Detailed editors' rating

    
Detailed editors' rating
Hotel condition: 1
Staff & Service: 1
Room cleanliness: 1
Location: 1
Value for Money: 1
Overall score: Very nice (1)
    
Average guest rating: 4.60
  •  
out of 9 reviews
See all reviews

Book Now
Travel tools

QUICK CONTACT
  • Toll Free: 40000916 *
  • Local Phone: 506 2645-6270
  • Support: Contact Us
* USA & Canada



Other hotels in Monteverde Costa Rica